The Lighthouses of New York

Tue, Oct 22, 2013 at 12:00AM

Our journey on the East Coast of the United States continues in today’s tour of New York lighthouses! There are more than 30 lighthouses in the state of New York but today we will be touring a few of our favorites: Horseshoe Reef Lighthouse, Statue of Liberty, and the Staten Island Lighthouse.

Horseshoe Reef Lighthouse

Even though there was already a working lighthouse in nearby Buffalo, another lighthouse was required in order to accommodate growing industries such as lumber and grain. Before the Horseshoe Reef Lighthouse, ships traveling to the Black Rock neighborhood were forced to cross treacherous areas of the Niagara River. Construction on the lighthouse began in 1851 and was not complete until 1856.

Statue of Liberty

Did you know that in its early years the Statue of Liberty was a lighthouse on the New York Coast? In 1886, President Grover ordered that the Statue of Liberty must operate as a lighthouse. It did not become an operable lighthouse until November 22, 1986, and was discontinued on March 1, 1902.

Staten Island Lighthouse

The Staten Island Lighthouse was approved by Congress in June 1906. The lighthouse and its keepers dwelling were not complete until April of 1912. Also known as the Ambrose Channel Range Lighthouse, the Staten Island Lighthouse is modeled after several lighthouses on the coast of Maine. 

If you have visited any one of the lighthouses in New York, share your experience and photos with us on our Monterey Boats Facebook page!

The Lighthouses of New York
The Lighthouses of New York

Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!

Previous Article